December 6, 2017 / Press Releases

ECU Statement on House GOP Gun Bill

Tiffany Muller, president of End Citizens United, released the following statement on the 231-198 passage of the Republican-led House bill that allows gun owners with permits to carry concealed weapons across state lines.

Fifteen House members of ECU’s Big Money 20 voted yes for the bill, which the NRA called its “highest legislative priority.” These 15 Big Money 20 members have received over $800,000 from the gun lobby over the course of their careers.

“Once again, these politicians have shown they would rather please their mega-donors than protect the constituents they were elected to serve,” said Tiffany Muller, president of End Citizens United. “In a giveaway to the gun lobby, this bill undermines the rights of individual states to decide who can carry hidden guns within their borders and what safety requirements those people need to meet. Today’s vote, in the wake of two horrific mass shootings, is the latest example of why ECU has launched the Big Money 20 to defeat these pawns of special interest big-money donors and elect reformers who will unrig the system.”

The 15 House members of the Big Money 20 who supported the bill are: Representatives Duncan Hunter(CA-50), Darrell Issa (CA-49), Dana Rohrabacher (CA-48), Mimi Walters (CA-45), Mike Coffman (CO-06), Mike Bost (IL-12), Rod Blum (IA-01), Mike Bishop (MI-08), Erik Paulsen (MN-03), Tom MacArthur(NJ-03), Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11), Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Robert Pittenger (NC-09),  Will Hurd (TX-23) and Paul Ryan (WI-01).

Next Post

End Citizens United Names Rep. Rod Blum to Big Money 20 Top Targets in 2018