Members of the 115th Congress U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Members of the 115th Congress:

American confidence in our government is at an all-time low. Accountability in our politics is in woefully short supply. Perhaps most concerning of all, a majority of the American people – once relentlessly optimistic and hopeful about the future – are now as likely to conclude America's most prosperous and productive days are behind us.

We decided to run for Congress because we know America's best days are still ahead, but confidence in our government and democracy must be restored. To do so, we must all acknowledge the corrosive role money and special interests have played in shaking the American people's faith in the system.

This is why we write to you today: to put Congress on notice. We are determined to reform the system and spark this restoration of American confidence should we be given the humble honor of serving our respective districts in the United States Congress.

We share the American people's impatience and frustration over the lack of reforms and transparency and the role of money in our politics. We hear day in and day out that special interests are drowning out the voices of everyday citizens – to the point where many Americans no longer believe their votes even count.

Restoring faith in our elections and in the integrity of our elected officials should be a top priority that all members of Congress can agree upon. Without these reforms we will be unable to truly regain the public trust or tackle the challenges of our day, like the costs of health care and prescription drugs, the opioid epidemic, or building an economy that is strong for working families.

For those reasons, these reforms must be sweeping, and they must be bold. They must be the very first item Congress addresses. We must not yield on this demand, the American public is counting on us.

We are committed to:

- limiting the influence of big donors on campaigns, quashing the political influence, real or perceived, special interests currently have in our government and providing incentives for donors to make small contributions to federal candidates;
- finally requiring genuine accountability through disclosure of all political spending and ensuring foreign money has no way of influencing our elections;

- shutting the revolving door between elected officials and the professional, special-interest lobbying industry;
- strengthening congressional ethics laws and their enforcement, including the adoption of harsher penalties for breaking the law and betraying the public trust;
- ending the imbalanced and divisive practice of political gerrymandering that currently allows the undemocratic practice of politicians picking their voters, rather than ensuring that voters pick their representatives; and
- removing, once and for all, the deliberate and partisan barriers that prohibit millions of Americans from freely and fairly exercising their right to vote.

If the American people do elect a Democratic majority this November, we must heed their call to finally and categorically change the way Washington works.

Our system is badly broken, our institutions are at the brink and our democracy is demonstrably at risk. However, to us, America remains the "shining city upon a hill," and should it be the will of the American people this November, we will commit ourselves to strengthening that city and restoring the faith of the American people in our great country and its political system.

Signed,

Kotio Ko

Katie Porter (CA-45)

Sharice Davids (KS-03)

Andy Kim (NJ-03)

Antonio Delgado (NY-19)

Jason Crow (CO-06)

Elissa Slotkin (MI-08)

Tom Malinowski (NJ-07)

Colin Allred (TX-32)

Lauren Baer (FL-18)

- Phillip

Dean Phillips (MN-03)

Max Rose (NY-11)

JAIN

Abigail Spanberger (VA-07)

then Sali

Alyse Galvin (AK-AL)

Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02)

Greg Stanton (AZ-09)



TJ Cox (CA-21)

Mallon Magar

Mallory Hagan (AL-03)

Anita Malik (AZ-06)

Jessica Morse (CA-04)

Andrew Janz (CA-22)

Gil Cisneros (CA-39)

Ammar Campa-Najjar (CA-50)

Tauca / odeberg

Nancy Soderberg (FL-06)

Harley Rouda (CA-48)

Joe Neguse (CO-02)

David Shapiro (FL-16)

Clarke Tucker (AR-02)

Dr. Hiral Tipirneni (AZ-08)

osh Harden

Josh Harder (CA-10)

Katie Hill (CA-25)

Wile Le

Mike Levin (CA-49)

Diane Mitsch Bush (CO-03)

Mary Barzee Flores (FL-25)

-e

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)

Carolyn Bourdeaux

F. Ker

Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07) Lucy McBath (GA-06)

J.D. Scholten (IA-04)

Bety

Betsy Dirksen Londrigan (IL-13)



Paul Davis (KS-02)

Matt Morgan (MI-01)

Gretchen Driskell (MI-07)

Dan Feehan

Dan Feehan (MN-01)

Sean Casten (IL-06)

Milii F.

Mel Hall (IN-02)

ζ

Jesse Colvin (MD-01)

1 to Mh

Rob Davidson (MI-02)

Andy Levin (MI-09)

Ungie Gaia

Angie Craig (MN-02)

Brendan Kelly (IL-12)

Liz Watson (IN-09)



Jared Golden (ME-02)

Dr. Matt Longjohn (MI-06)

Haley Stevens (MI-11)

Ilhan Omar (MN-05)



Joe Radinovich (MN-08)

Dr. Kyle Horton (NC-07)



Kara Eastman (NE-02)



Deb Haaland (NM-01)

enen Horsford

Steven Horsford (NV-04)



Tedra Cobb (NY-21)



Nate McMurray (NY-27)

Cort VanOstran (MO-02)

Dan McCready (NC-09)

Chris Pappas

Chris Pappas (NH-01)

Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02)

Perry Gershon (NY-01)

anthing Brindin

Anthony Brindisi (NY-22)

Aftab Pureval (OH-01)

all. UNI

Kathleen Williams (MT-AL)

Kathy E. Manning

Kathy Manning (NC-13)

h W. Wich

Josh Welle (NJ-04)

le Ín sie

Susie Lee (NV-03)

Liuba Grechen Shirley (NY-02)

Dana Balter (NY-24)

U kchiller

Jill Schiller (OH-02)

Kennett E. Harby

Ken Harbaugh (OH-07)

Raden

Betsy Rader (OH-14)

Scott Wallace (PA-01)

gulaha Masz

Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06)



Jess King (PA-11)

yne danchez

Jana Lynne Sanchez (TX-06)



Joseph Kopser (TX-21)

Theresa Gasper (OH-10)

Rick Neal (OH-15)

Madeleine Dean Mary Duy

Madeleine Dean (PA-04)

Jusuntermour

Susan Wild (PA-07)

CulA. U.

Ron DiNicola (PA-16)

Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (TX-07)

Sri Preston Kulkarni (TX-22)

Danny O'Connor (OH-12)

Kendra Horn (OK-05)

Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05)

BA

George Scott (PA-10)

Joe Cunningham (SC-01)

Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

Gina Ortiz Jones (TX-23)

Juliellion

Julie Oliver (TX-25)



Ben McAdams (UT-04)

Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)

Dr. Kim Schrier (WA-08)

Syluin R. Such

Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)

aml una

Elaine Luria (VA-02)

Long (an

Carolyn Long (WA-03)

n Koh

Dan Kohl (WI-06)

Pary Tennings;

MJ Hegar (TX-31)

Leslie Cockburn (VA-05)

150

Lisa Brown (WA-05)