June 5, 2019 / Press Releases

End Citizens United Action Fund Praises House Freshmen For Urging Sen. McConnell to Bring For the People Act Up for a Debate and Vote

The For the People Act is the most comprehensive money in politics and government reform package since Watergate

Washington, DC –– Today, almost every Democratic member of the U.S. House’s freshman class signed a letter to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell urging him to allow a debate and an up or down vote on the For the People Act (H.R. 1/S. 949). The For the People Act passed the House in March and is a once-in-a-generation anti-corruption, voting rights, and money in politics reform bill.

“In the 2018 midterms, the American people demanded reform and elected leaders who would fight against the special interests controlling Washington,” said End Citizens United President Tiffany Muller. “By passing the For the People Act so swiftly, the new Democratic majority proved they are accountable to voters, not special interests. The House has done its job, but because of Senator Mitch McConnell, the Senate hasn’t even held a hearing on the bill. Mitch McConnell is acting like a puppet in the hands of the Big Money corporate special interests that keep him in power. McConnell should listen to the people and allow the Senate to vote on the For the People Act.”

End Citizens United Action Fund worked with twelve freshmen members to help organize almost the entire freshman class: Rep. Katie Porter (CA-45), Rep. Jason Crow (CO-06), Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-03), Rep. Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-03), Rep. Chris Pappas (NH-01), Rep. Andy Kim (NJ-03), Rep. Tom Malinowski (NJ-07), Rep. Max Rose (NY-11), Rep. Antonio Delgado (NY-19), Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32), and Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07).

The letter reads:

“Across the country, the American people have made clear that they want Congress to enact meaningful anti-corruption reform. That’s why we pledged action on comprehensive campaign finance, ethics, and voting reforms as the first priority for the 116th Congress.

“As newly sworn-in Members, we got right to work on the For the People Act (H.R. 1), the most comprehensive set of pro-democracy reforms in a generation, passing it out of the House in March. Following a campaign season in which corruption and the power of special interests was a central theme, H.R. 1 delivered on our promise to clean up Washington and create a democracy that works for all of us.”

You can read the full text of the letter here.

In October, End Citizens United organized a letter, signed by three-quarters of the incoming class, demanding reform be the first item on the agenda in the new Congress. A post-election poll commissioned by ECU found that 75 percent of 2018 voters in battleground House districts said cracking down on Washington corruption was their top priority. So far in the 116th Congress, the Senate has only focused on judicial nominations, earning bipartisan condemnation, instead of tackling real issues.

Below is the list of Democratic freshman members of the U.S. House who have signed the letter:

Rep. Max Rose (NY-11)*

Rep. Katie Porter (CA-45)*

Rep. Jason Crow (CO-06)*

Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-03)*

Rep. Elissa Slotkin (MI-08)*

Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-03)*

Rep. Chris Pappas (NH-01)*

Rep. Andy Kim (NJ-03)*

Rep. Tom Malinowski (NJ-07)*

Rep. Antonio Delgado (NY-19)*

Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32)*

Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-07)*

Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02)

Rep. Greg Stanton (AZ-09)

Rep. Josh Harder (CA-10)

Rep. TJ Cox (CA-21)

Rep. Jimmy Gomez (CA-34)

Rep. Katie Hill (CA-25)

Rep. Gil Cisneros (CA-39)

Rep. Harley Rouda (CA-48)

Rep. Mike Levin (CA-49)

Rep. Joe Neguse (CO-02)

Rep. Jahana Hayes (CT-05)

Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)

Rep. Donna Shalala (FL-27)

Rep. Lucy McBath (GA-06)

Rep. Ed Case (HI-01)

Rep. Abby Finkenauer (IA-01)

Rep. Cindy Axne (IA-03)

Rep. Jesus Chuy García (IL-04)

Rep. Sean Casten (IL-06)

Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14)

Rep. Lori Trahan (MA-03)

Rep. Ayanna Pressley (MA-07)

Rep. David Trone (MD-06)

Rep. Andy Levin (MI-09)

Rep. Haley M. Stevens (MI-11)

Rep. Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)

Rep. Angie Craig (MN-02)

Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-05)

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02)

Rep. Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11)

Rep. Deb Haaland (NM-01)

Rep. Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02)

Rep. Susie Lee (NV-03)

Rep. Steven Horsford (NV-04)

Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)

Rep. Anthony Brindisi (NY-22)

Rep. Joseph Morelle (NY-25)

Rep. Kendra Horn (OK-05)

Rep. Madeleine Dean (PA-04)

Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05)

Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06)

Rep. Susan Wild (PA-07)

Rep. Conor Lamb (PA-17)

Rep. Joe Cunningham (SC-01)

Rep. Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (TX-07)

Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)

Rep. Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)

Rep. Ben McAdams (UT-04)

Rep. Jennifer Wexton (VA-10)

Rep. Kim Schrier (WA-08)

* Denotes the 12 freshman members who helped organize the letter.

# # #

Next Post

End Citizens United Endorses Rep. Anthony Brindisi for Reelection